This Is ME

Good evening to anyone who is still out there. It has been nearly 3 MONTHS since my last blog post so I will be surprised if anyone is.

This post isn’t nail polish related really, so I understand that many of those who may read this blog will click away at this revelation but I’m going to carry on anyway.

The title of this blog is inspired by my anthem for the year ‘This Is Me’ from The Greatest Showman. I am obsessed with the film and the soundtrack and it has inspired me to begin to accept myself for who I am. To refuse to change to make myself ‘fit in’. To be happier.

SO with acceptance in mind…

Here are 10 things about me, some will show you my view of myself, others tell you about things I like or maybe just give you useless information. But hey… This is ME!

1, I am a primary school teacher and am also a trained Special Educational Needs Coordinator. These things make me proud and although they are hard to do, I love helping children to learn and seeing them make progress.

2, I played the viola as a child, then moved onto alto saxophone and have since had piano lessons as an adult, although I am still a beginner. Finding time to practice is difficult but I really enjoy it.

Music-Image-2

3, I love to sing! I am crap at it (excuse the language) but I do it all the time. There is always a song in my head and if my car had ears I am sure they would be bleeding. The current album on repeat is of course, The Greatest Showman album.

4, I have ongoing back and hip pain which I have had since I fell over 9 years ago. I can manage the pain better now but there are still days where I just wish it would stop.

5, I’ve just brought my first home with the love of my life! It is a little two bed cottage full of character and absolutely no right angles. It is our happy place.

IMG_9320

6, I have very little confidence in myself in any way. This ranges from the way I look to every choice I make. I have never liked my body, I have a tiny chest and massive hips and thighs making my a “big old pear” I also have funny teeth from sucking my thumb as a child and many many other things I don’t like. However I am really trying to learn to see the positives, but that’s going to take a while because…

7, I am a glass half empty kind of gal. If there is ever a positive and negative point of view on an event I see the negative without even thinking about it. I panic and worry about what might be and without my boyfriend there to be the full glass I would spiral into complete melt down I think.

8, I don’t care how old I get, my love of Disney and Harry Potter will never be something I am ashamed of. These things make me happy. A place to escape, whether that is in song, film or text.

9, I love nail polish. Obvious one this. I am not overly feminine but I just love having pretty nails and discovering new polishes. I really like nail art too although with a busy job I don’t find as much time to do this anymore.

Sammy LOGO

10, Lastly, and I guess most importantly, I am working this year to be the best version of myself. I’m making this the year of ME! Of course I will still devote myself to my job, friends and loved ones as I can’t ever stop that (it’s one thing I like about myself) but I am going to actively be thinking about myself. Trying to meet goals and aspirations and be happier.

I have many negatives and many positives. I’m sure many of you feel the same. By using the phrase ‘This Is Me’ I don’t plan on changing myself, no, I plan to embrace all the different things that make me ME!

1d09b6f6fdeee674e4b6b61ad40bab18.1000x563x28

I hope that you will join me as I share not only nail polish this year, but posts where I waffle a bit about myself or things that I’ve done.

Much love and thanks as always,

(This IS) Me x

IMG_0537

Leave a comment